SDHSAA Approves Second Reading for Football Classifications

The South Dakota High School Activities Association has approved the second reading involving football classifications which will change the number of teams in 11-man football.

Thursday afternoon, the Activities Association unanimously voted to approve the change to the football classifications which will see the top eight schools with O’Gorman making up 11AAA while the next 11 will be AA, the next 14 makes up 11A and everyone that has a male ADM (Average Daily Membership) of 56.001 will make up 11B. Every school divided evenly into three classes under 56.000 will make up the 9-man classes.

With the new system the Pierre Governors will still be in 11AA joined by Watertown, Aberdeen Central and Tea Area moving into the class. The Stanley County Buffaloes would still be in 11B under the new classifications with an ADM of 59 for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years. However, because of the ADM heading into the 2021 school year the Buffs will drop into a 9-man class after spending the last several years in 11B. The Sully Buttes Chargers will remain in 9-man.

The 2021 Football season begins at the end of August.