Spirit of Su Awarded Tuesday

PIERRE – The “Visions of SuAnne” Foundation, in coordination with the South Dakota High School Basketball Coaches’ Association and South Dakota High School Activities Association announced the six winners on Tuesday.

The six winners include:

AA Boys – Cooper Cornemann, Yankton

AA Girls – Emma Osmundson, Sioux Falls Lincoln

A Boys – Maxwell Nielson, Sioux Valley

A Girls – Morgan Hammberback, Winner

B Boys – Nicholas Sayler, White River

B Girls – Sydnie Schauer, Faith

The “Spirit of Su” award has been bestowed on deserving athletes each year at the State Basketball Championships since 1994, following SuAnne’s death in an automobile accident on her way to attend the Miss Basketball Banquet following her senior year. The “Spirit of Su” award recognizes excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and community service among seniors playing at each of the state basketball tournaments. Quilts awarded to each honoree include colors and symbolism of all races of people, living together in beautiful harmony, as was SuAnne’s dream. The honorary quilts and awards were presented in person on Tuesday to each of the six recipients on behalf of the Visions of SuAnne Foundation.