Spring Football Clinic

SDFBCA is having the SDFBCA Spring Football Clinic at the Dana J Dykhouse Stadium on March 23-24, 2019.  I’ve included a schedule of speakers including Jerry Kill, 3-time National Coach of the Year and FCA Speaker Gene Chizik, 2010 SEC Coach of the Year plus 8 of the South Dakota Football Colleges and many high school coaches from the area states.

2019 SDFBCA Spring Football Clinic

March 23-24, 2019(Saturday & Sunday AM)

The clinic is at Dana J Dykhouse Stadium on SDSU Campus in Brookings, SD.

Some of the Speakers are: 

Jerry Kill, keynote speaker

Gene Chizik, FCA Speaker

8 South Dakota Colleges speaking

11 Man Speakers:

Troy Mattern, Fargo Shanley

Josh Bolluyt and staff, Spirit Lake, IA

Matt Lombardi, Maple Grove, MN

9 Man Speakers:

Jack Biesterfeld, Kidder County, ND

Greg Dobitz, Oaks, ND

Darren Baartman, RTR, MN

State Champion Panel discussion

Social Media

Other speakers TBA

Awards will be present on Saturday, March 23 at 7 PM in Club 71 in the Dana J Dykhouse Stadium.

Awards being presenting are:

Honoring the 2018 State Champion Coaches:

9B Ben Connot, Colome

9A James Strang, Canistota/Freeman

9AA Byron Pudwill, Bon Homme

11B Jake Pettengill, Sioux Falls Christian

11A Craig Clayberg, Tea Area

11AA Steve Steele, Pierre TF Riggs

11AAA Chad Garrow, Brandon Valley

NHSACA All Americans & Honorable Mention Americans

All Americans:  Trey King, Irene-Wakonda Tupak Kpeayeh, SF Washington

Honorable Mention Americans:  Jackson Kinzer, Colome Tucker Kraft, Timber Lake Mitchell Goodbary, SF Christian Carter Slykhuis, Tea Area Jack Maher, Pierre TF Riggs

NHSACA’s Winner Circle Coach Winner:  Byron Pudwill, Bon Homme HS

25th Class of SDFBCA’s Hall of Fame inductees

Steve Hansen, Dell Rapids

O C Heitman, Wakonda

Dan Mitchell, Yankton

Brent Mutchelknaus, Irene-Wakonda

2019 Assistant Coach of the Year Award winners

9B Assistant Coach of the Year – Kyle Kooima, Castlewood

9A Assistant Coach of the Year – Ryan Gimbel, Timber Lake

9AA Assistant Coach of the Year – Thomas Konechne, Kimball/White Lake

11B Assistant Coach of the Year – Tim Hawkins, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan

11A Assistant Coach of the Year – Craig Jorgensen, Dell Rapid

11AA Assistant Coach of the Year – Mike Carda, Huron

11AAA Assistant Coach of the Year – Ed Whiting, SF Roosevelt

Assistant Coach of the Year (8th Grade and Under) – Matt Aarstad, Bon Homme


The Assistant Coach of the Year awards will be presented at the All-Star Football Game on Saturday, June 8 at half time of the game.  The Game will be held in Vermillion.