US Marshals Service Moves To Create One South Dakota Joint Fugitive Task Force

(KCCR) — The way law enforcement looks for bad guys is changing some in South Dakota. U-S Marshal Dan Mosteller says three regional fugitive task forces are being combined into the statewide Dakota Territory Fugitive Task Force. The Marshals Service has sponsored three such task forces in Sioux Falls in the east, Pierre in central South Dakota and Rapid City in the west. The new border to border Fugitive Task Force will bring the previously participating law enforcement agencies making up the regional task forces together. Mosteller says the formation of the new task force will increase efficiency and collaboration among participating agencies. Offices for the Dakota Territory Fugitive Task Force will remain in Sioux Falls, Pierre and Rapid City. The Pierre and Chamberlain Police Departments along with both the Hughes and Stanley County Sheriff Offices are included in the new statewide group.